The Art of Giving and Taking While Blogging.

This year is sure to bring great things for everyone…I just have a feeling about this. (Crick, I’m looking at you too!)  The good feeling extends to this blog as well.  While I post a hodge-podge of things on here – recipes, workouts (which I haven’t been doing lately), things I do, things I don’t do, travel, etc – I do it all for me, my health and my sanity.  So selfish, I know, I know.  What I am trying to get at is this – I am going to take RedheadedInk in a slightly new direction.  Blogging is a funny thing, you know?  You walk a fine line between giving away too much personal information while still being real, truthful and interesting.  I haven’t been totally honest with you and it’s about time I give you all a little bit more.  It’s okay if I lose you as a reader because you should read what your little heart desires, but just know that I’ll miss you!

So here’s the plan and please let me know if you have any suggestions or comments on the direction of the blog.  There are two things that really guide my decisions in life – a) my dairy allergy and b) my Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS).  I struggled with both of them when I first found out and I wished that there was more out there to help me cope.  My doctor didn’t give me much in the way of PCOS; he actually didn’t give me anything at all.  Separately, I self-diagnosed my dairy allergy.

Okay so those are the two overarching themes –

A. Living with a dairy allergy in a world that is filled with dairy – case in point protein bars are made with whey; deli meats have casein; most restaurant food has butter for flavor enhancement; the word “creamy” while makes me salivate is pretty much everywhere.

B. Living with PCOS – navigating the murky waters of what it means to have Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (aka PCOS), which workouts are most effective and how to balance a life with it (for those of you who don’t know what it is, come back another time and I’ll edu-ma-cate you).  Most resources out there focus solely on the infertility aspect of it, but to be honest I have no interest in that at this point in my life.  I just want to know how to effectively live my life in the healthiest way possible without becoming one of the statistics associated with PCOS – a high percentage of women who have PCOS are significantly overweight.

laundry

From those two themes will come a lot of the randomness that I currently divulge.  Eating, working out, going out and being active will still be the stars of the show, but with a deeper focus on why they are a part of my life and how I modify them to fit my lifestyle.  I try to cut the sugar in the recipes I create, make them a bit healthier by doing this or that without compromising taste, and I make little adjustments in my life to account for hormonal imbalances or “off” weeks.

I so wished there was more information out there about successfully living with PCOS and not just women who are chronicling their journey with infertility (which is not something I am trying to belittle; it is a very serious problem but it’s not what I am going through right now…in fact, children at this point in my career is absurd to even think about).  PCOS is not a disease or a stigma but you do have to change your habits and expectations on so many things when it comes to your body – if I can help someone the way I needed/wanted the information and encouragement then the whole concept of this blog is worth every post!

I think I’ve spewed enough information for one post, and I hope you come back again!  Things won’t change that much but I just wanted to finally give you as much as you, my readers, give me.   Please do post any suggestions, comments, concerns, etc below – I’d love to hear from you!

~ by Hilary Walsh on January 30, 2013.

2 Responses to “The Art of Giving and Taking While Blogging.”

  1. Virgin Coconut oil – flavored for sweets and unflavored for savory…Nut butters and nut milks!!!

    • Great Idea! I’ve actually been experimenting with coconut oil and, based on my co-workers reactions to my creations, it has been quite successful.

      I’ll get the recipes up soon!

Leave a Reply

 
