Devouring Thyme Speckled Snowflakes.

Sorry about all the iPhone photos in recent posts. I promise to start bringing back out my real DSLR soon, but the iPhone is oh-so convenient.

20121204-120001.jpg

Every year growing up I would wait and wait for the annual cookie exchange party my mom would go to without fail. She would separate the cookies that had nuts in them so my sister wouldn’t have an allergic reaction and we would systematically devour ever singe crumb. Since spreading my ever-so-large wings and flying away from home, I have missed the tins of cookies she would bring home (and the generous leftovers of her special cookies)!  Just in case you’re headed to a cookie exchange, do me a favor and make these Lemon & Thyme, Olive Oil Cookies. You can thank me later.  Plus, they look like snowflakes.

20121204-115955.jpg

As I sit here and write this post, on my lunch break, look what’s hanging out with me. Don’t worry, I cleaned my keyboard. I brought them into work as a “let’s all get in the holiday spirit” “woohoo there are lights up and it should be snowing” type of enthusiasm that our office needs right now and several people asked for the recipe. I knew it was a hit.  Some people were a bit hesitant to eat a cookie with Thyme in it and (gasp!) no butter, but when they took their first bite I had converted every single naysayer.  One response was, “wow these are perfectly savory…do you share your recipes?”  But, of course…

Lemon & Thyme, Olive Oil Cookies
makes about 28-32 cookies

ingredients
1 cup granulated sugar
2 Tablespoons lemon zest (about 2 regular-size lemons) {note: save the lemon}
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon finely minced thyme
2/3 cup virgin olive oil
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract
2 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice

topping
1/2 cup granulated sugar for rolling

instructions
In the bowl of a stand mixer (I don’t have a stand mixer but a whisk does the trick and gives your arms a bit of a workout), combine the sugar (1 cup) and lemon zest. Rub the zest into the sugar until it’s evenly moistened; Set aside to marinate for a few minutes.

In a separate large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and thyme; Set aside.

Add the olive oil, egg, almond extract, and lemon juice, to the lemon-sugar mixture. Beat on med-low speed until smooth. (About 3-5 minutes.) Add the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Cover the bowl and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.

Preheat the oven to 375 F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Place the 1/2 cup of granulated sugar (for rolling) into a large, shallow bowl.

20121204-120015.jpg

For each cookie, measure out about 2 well-rounded teaspoonfuls. Roll into balls and roll the balls through the bowl of sugar until evenly coated (I just sprinkled sugar over the ball instead of rolling it through that way there wasn’t as much sugar). {Note: Don’t worry if the dough is a bit crumbly. If you work the balls of dough long enough with your palms, it will come together.} Place the sugar-coated cookies onto prepared sheets. Use the bottom of a glass or cup to flatten slightly.

20121204-120023.jpg

Bake for 8-10 minutes. The cookies will have puffed up slightly but will still look pale. (Mine were just right after 9 minutes.) Remove the cookies sheets from the oven and let the cookies rest for about 3 minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

20121204-120008.jpg

As I was doing my daily internet perusal I stumbled across an article about baking with Olive Oil; funny because I was discussing this with my mom the other day in regards to butter substitutes (sometimes I really dislike this dairy allergy!). Anyway, the Huffington Post posted this awesome slideshow and I decided to make the Lemon & Thyme, Olive Oil Cookies. Oh. So. Delicious.

20121204-120036.jpg

As always, someone is lurking close by.

~ by HilaryGiles on December 4, 2012.

3 Responses to “Devouring Thyme Speckled Snowflakes.”

  1. Can’t wait to make them!!! Love you…

  2. We are going to try them here too!!! Hi Bentley!!!!

  3. […] between blogging/privacy/personal can often times be blurred.  However, life isn’t always delicious cookies and beer festivals and it’s okay to write about the traumatic times […]

Leave a Reply

 
