Breakfast, Brunch and Brinner.

It is safe to say that breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I can devour any morning treat as breakfast (naturally), lunch or dinner. When my mom would ask us what we wanted for dinner growing up, I would suggest “breakfast for dinner” at least once a week. I can also vividly remember standing over the stove half asleep at 5:30 am making myself an omelet while sipping coffee before trekking off to school growing up. I never miss a breakfast. Ever.

20121114-104529.jpg

For about $2 bucks you can get four meals out of this little bugger. One pizza (2 meals) and enough left over for two breakfasts. As one of those 20-somethings who continually finds myself financially struggling, I can’t beat that!

I made pizza the other night for dinner. It consisted of fire roasted tomatoes with sautéed sweet peppers and onions all on top of a layer of prosciutto. Ever since I developed an allergy to milk products (yes, I know, it is tragic) I have had to get creative with my pizza toppings. This is definitely one for the books. I digress; so back to breakfast. I had left over tomatoes, onions and peppers so I chopped it all up into a salsa looking concoction threw some oregano in there and let it muddle together in the fridge overnight, still unsure what I was going to do with the measly portion leftover. Come breakfast time, I knew!

20121114-104457.jpg

I pulled out a couple links of sausage and heated the tomato-ey goodness up in a pan.

20121114-104506.jpg

Then I did what anyone would do…I put two over-easy eggs right on top and proceeded to puncture the yolks to get that drizzly waterfall cascading down the mountain of sausage, tomato, onion and oh-so sweet pepper scramble.

20121114-104515.jpg

Finally, I mixed it all together. Not the most visually appealing but it sure did taste good.

20121114-104536.jpg

You know this face was lurking close by – okay so right on top of my feet and at times resting his head on my leg (oh yes, he is indeed large enough that his head can rest squarely on my leg while I am sitting down).

20121114-104523.jpg

I caved (which, for the record, I do not usually do) and gave him the plate to lick clean. How can you resist that face (sometimes)?

~ by Hilary Walsh on November 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “Breakfast, Brunch and Brinner.”

  1. Bentley is looking good!!! So is that mixture!

  2. Sounded yummy!!! The B~man is B-I-G to say the least!!! Love ya

Leave a Reply

 
