Beer, Biscuits and Gravy.

I realize it’s almost the weekend, but I must share a few details from last weekend. I’m a perpetual procrastinator and I’ve been thinking of writing this all week so here goes…

20121025-114151.jpg

Friday night, I took it easy. Bentley and I went to the dog park; he made new friends while I chatted with familiar faces.

20121025-110545.jpg

A few months back, a bunch of friends and I bought tickets for an Oktoberfest in the City. I went to the same event last year and it was a blast. This year did not disappoint. The venue is an old warehouse in the depths of Chelsea between 11th and 12th Avenues but has such great architectural details. Fun fact: it is the same venue as the nightclub “Tunnel” from American Psycho; the space was originally an old railroad terminal.

20121025-112059.jpg

So on Saturday a bunch of us met up for four hours of unlimited beer tastings, schnapps, and a few samplings of wine. Plus, you get a souvenir glass – can’t beat that, right?! After indulging in pretzels, hard cider with a shot of schnapps (oh yes, so delicious – you can find the cider at Angry Orchard) and four hours of endless beer and dancing we trekked it out to Brooklyn to see a friends band play. It was a great night.

20121025-112045.jpg

Sunday, oh Sunday. It was a glorious day. I woke up and declared it was the perfect day for biscuits and gravy…southern style. So I made a quick trip to the store and got some sausage, milk, biscuits, fruit, orange juice and champagne (mimosa’s were requested from the troops – I didn’t complain). My roommates are not from the south so I had to make sure I did it right. The recipe I created was oh so glorious and everyone was in heaven. I didn’t hear a peep during breakfast except the sounds of happy bellies ouh-ing and ah-ing, om-ing and yum-ing.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package (7 oz.) Jones Light Sausage and Rice Links, chopped
  • 1 small yellow onion. minced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 2 1/2 cups milk (I use Lactaid so it took a little longer to thicken)
  • salt, white pepper, garlic powder, thyme, basil, nutmeg, paprika

Directions:

Melt the butter on medium heat. Add onions and sausage cook until onions are translucent. Add the flour so the sausage is evenly coated. Stir in milk, reduce heat to low, add the spices and cook until the gravy thickens. Make sure to stir occasionally. Serve over a big fluffy buttermilk biscuit with a side of eggs and a mimosa! Note: I did add a tad bit of the bacon grease to my gravy. It is not necessary but is most definitely helpful.

20121025-110519.jpg

After bellies full of biscuits and sausage gravy with a side of eggs and a bit of bacon we headed off to go thrifting in Greenwich <– hand-me-downs from the rich and famous, yes, please! Of course, we ended up in lululemon and Lucy buying workout clothes, go figure! After shopping we went pumpkin picking but more on that in another post.  This weekend is our Halloween party and I’ve got a cute costume planned. I’m not the best at dressing up so I’m quite proud of myself.  It’s cheap and everything came from my closet.

~ by Hilary Walsh on October 25, 2012.

4 Responses to “Beer, Biscuits and Gravy.”

  1. Yum…another storm heading this way for Halloween weekend this year too.!!!

  2. My boyfriend LOVES biscuits and gravy.

    • I live with a couple 20-something guys and they were scraping the bottom of the pan looking for more! It’s definitely man-tested and approved.

  3. […] can often times be blurred.  However, life isn’t always delicious cookies and beer festivals and it’s okay to write about the traumatic times […]

Leave a Reply

 
