Liquefied Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

So I was sitting at work the other day day-dreaming about the empty bag of dark chocolate bits that I pulled out of my desk drawer and had a major epiphany! Earlier that day I made oatmeal for breakfast (it is one of my go-to winter comfort foods) and really wanted to dump chocolate chips in the mix. I reasoned myself out of it with the lame excuse that chocolate and breakfast do not go hand-in-hand.  Big mistake!  Anyway, back to the once-full bag of dark chocolate chips that sat empty in my desk drawer. As I was drooling over all things chocolatey, I thought – “aha! I CAN add these to my oatmeal..it will be like a gooey oatmeal chocolate chip cookie. Oh. My. Goodness. Genius.” And that’s exactly what happened. Enjoy, my friends.

20121018-091851.jpg

Liquefied Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • dry quick oats (I buy from the bulk bins at Whole Foods and just scoop a handful into a bowl in the morning when I’m still groggy)
  • more milk than usual (I like this version of oatmeal to be a bit gooey because it makes it feel like I am eating cookie dough…for breakfast)
  • 1/2 banana, chopped up into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 tsp brown sugar, packed
  • handful of walnuts
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • as much as your little heart desires of dark chocolate (I put in 10 bits)

Put the quick cooking oats and milk in the microwave, on high, for 1 min. Remove from microwave and stir in remaining ingredients. Microwave for an additional 20 seconds. Then enjoy it in all its gooey, liquefied glory.  While I did thoroughly enjoy my breakfast, I think I will reserve this for Sunday mornings.  It is very rich in flavor and makes you want to crawl right back into bed with a good book and a cup of coffee.

*This version is made with quick cooking oats; I usually buy whole rolled oats so the ratios and cooking times will vary when using rolled oats.

20121018-092328.jpg

If you try this, let me know your thoughts.

~ by Hilary Walsh on October 18, 2012.

2 Responses to “Liquefied Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.”

  1. No chocolate for me, but I might try carob chips!!!

  2. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

 
