Sweaters + Football + Chili = Fall.

You already know I love football; you may not know that I thoroughly enjoy cozying up on the couch in sweat pants with a big cup of tea; you probably don’t know that my favorite season is fall/autumn. There is something about the cool, crisp air of fall that screams…CHILI. Yep, that’s right I made a delicious turkey and white bean chili last night. I had a rare night to myself – no roommates or distractions so it was just me and a glorious night of cooking.

20121013-213630.jpg

Side note: This has been the first weekend of chilly temperatures and someone else agrees that it’s a good idea to curl up under the covers!

20121013-213651.jpg

The recipe was so simple that I was initially nervous about making the chili. I thought about making it more complicated than it needed to be, but decided to revel in the simplicity and just cook. After the first bite (and three helpings later) my happy belly squashed any reservations I may have had at first. I must confess, sometimes my eyes are much bigger than my stomach.

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 (16 oz) can cannellini beans, partially mashed
  • 1 (4 oz) can mild green chilies
  • Various spices: chili powder, paprika, oregano, cayenne pepper, cumin, nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, pepper

1. Heat the olive oil in a large pot then cook the turkey until evenly brown. Stir in the onion and garlic and cook until tender.

2. Pour water into the pot. Mix in the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 30 minutes.

20121013-214937.jpg

Simple as that. Just make yourself some cornbread and call it an evening.

The cornbread crumbled when I tried to take it out to cool. But hey, we can’t all be Ina Garten, right? It all tastes the same to me so I never mind a little presentation mishap.

20121013-215324.jpg

In other news, our neighborhood had a new family move in down the street.

~ by HilaryGiles on October 14, 2012.

5 Responses to “Sweaters + Football + Chili = Fall.”

  1. Yummy! One of my favorite meals of all time – chili and cornbread! You are a good study! Love Cita

  2. Looks good…it just went into my recipes as Hils Chili…

  3. Looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

 
