Salad Kits.

When it comes to lunch I tend to be a creature of habit – lots of salads, soups (in the winter), leftovers and visits to the same take out places with the same item ordered off the menu. However, I love to try new places for dinner but I digress. I do not like to deviate away from what I know to be good; one, because I sit for the majority of the day and eating consciously is a must; two, because I do not like to feel sluggish or have an upset stomach at work.

20120927-124219.jpg

The other day I picked up a Dole “Perfect Harvest” ready-made salad kit from the grocery store. I was a little skeptical because I am not a fan of prepackaged food and I usually pack my own salad. I must admit that I was quite impressed with the ingredients and options it presented. The lettuce was fresh and the ingredients were separated into their own sealed bags (wasteful? Yes, but that’s how it goes with prepackaged goods, right?).

20120927-124211.jpg

Included for the price $3.99 was dried cranberries, slivered almonds, shredded carrots and a romaine/endive mixed blend. I only used a quarter, if that, of the salad dressing provided. An Apple Cider Dijon Vinaigrette has enough distinction that you do not need more than a tablespoon for flavor.

I picked up some sliced turkey to add protein to my meal and called it a day. Bottom line: I think will occasionally buy more of these in the future. Especially since ordering a salad for lunch can cost anywhere from $8.50 to $12.00.

Prepackage food…like or dislike?

~ by Hilary Walsh on September 27, 2012.

One Response to “Salad Kits.”

  1. Just be careful as many of these have been recalled – too late – for salmonella!!!

Leave a Reply

 
