Guacamole.

As promised, here is my guacamole recipe. It is very simple and requires a lot of love but I assure you, you won’t be disappointed. Side note: This summer marked the beginning of my guacamole recipe development. Before making my own, it was all about squeezing it out of those store-bought bags; I will tell you that I don’t touch that stuff anymore, even if it is the only option at a bbq.  Nope, I am a guacamole snob these days.  I have never measured the ingredients because the exact amounts vary each time but the recipe below will deliver great results.  The recipe below is based off of using 2 avocados, which will typically feed two hungry boys plus one hungry girl in about 5 minutes flat.

You will need:

2 ripe Avocados

A handful of fresh Cilantro leaves

1/2 Medium Garden Fresh Tomato, chopped (I typically cut one half of a tomato per 2 avocados)

1/3 C Red Onion, minced (It usually averages to 3 – 1/4″ thick bands of onion per 2 avocados)

1/2 Lime

Hot Sauce (I use Blair’s ‘Sudden Death’ – caution: extremely hot)

Salt

Directions:

Scoop the avocados out of their peels into a medium mixing bowl.

20120918-132841.jpg

Add finely chopped cilantro, minced red onion and chopped tomato (okay to include the juices on the cutting board). Run your knife through the mixture a few times to “chop” up the avocados.

20120918-132832.jpg

With a spoon, vigorously stir the mixture for a couple of minutes. Squeeze lime into mix and beat again. Add salt and stir. Add hot sauce to your liking – this hot sauce only require two drops for a slight kick or three – four drops for a punch. Taste the mix as is to determine if you need any further cilantro, salt or hot sauce, et cetera. Adjust accordingly and serve.

20120918-132823.jpg

I can assure you it will be gone and you will not need to put the pits in the mix to keep it fresh. As you can see, I can’t even transfer the mix from the mixing bowl to an actual dish, let alone take a photo without handfuls of chips digging in! 😉

20120918-132925.jpg

The keys to success with this recipe are in the hand-stirring of the guacamole, it gives it the perfect lumpiness yet still being creamy. The other thing is the hot sauce, seriously, it’s all in the hot sauce. I don’t recommend Frank’s for this – I’ve tried it before and it did not come out nearly as well. I have tried it with jalapenos before but the hot sauce, whichever one you do use, is crucial to getting an even amount of kick throughout the entire batch.

20120918-132807.jpg

~ by Hilary Walsh on September 21, 2012.

2 Responses to “Guacamole.”

  1. I can’t believe I beat Dawn to this…sounds good! I keep SriRacha sauce on hand and would use that!

  2. Sounds yummy.. love you! !!

Leave a Reply

 
