(Wo)Man’s Best Friend.

It is funny how much affect a relatively simple creature can have on the life of one person or persons. Yes, I am talking about dogs!

20120918-103751.jpg

They sense so much of what’s going on around them and react accordingly. A great example, the other night my roommate and I were talking about life and death – where, if any place, do we go after dying? Do we come back to life as something else entirely? You get the idea. Well, we were talking about people close to us who have passed on and Bentley could sense something. There were no tears, no shaky voices, just little tugs at the heart strings. He got up from his bed and stood in front of us whining. This went on for a couple of minutes and I wasn’t sure what he was doing standing there, staring at us, endlessly whining. I finally realized he could tell something was different, so I moved the coffee table so he could get past and he walked right up to my roommate, who was telling a story, and just laid his head right on my roommate and looked up at him with those piercing eyes. His tail didn’t wag; he just stood there with a heavy head as if to say, “it’s okay, I’ll comfort you.”

20120918-103545.jpg

It was, by far, one of the sweetest gestures! I will be the first to admit Bentley, my 2.5 year old 85 pound Boxer-Mastiff Mix, is not the most intelligent dog. He will not be a seeing-eye dog anytime soon, heck, he won’t even play fetch. He is, however, a gentle giant who knows nothing but love and affection. I mean c’mon look at that face…

20120918-103301.jpg

He prefers small dogs over unfamiliar large dogs, requires human contact pretty much at all times, loves to chase rabbits, and will bring you “gifts” when you walk through the door. His gifts are toys or old socks that he crams into his mouth the minute you walk through the door – even if it’s just after bringing the trash out. He stuffs as many as will fit into his mouth. It’s really incredible and sometimes he will stuff a tennis ball, softball and two socks into his mouth at once.  I will try to get a picture of it soon.

20120918-103726.jpg

He also loves car rides…

20120918-103813.jpg

… and the dog park.  I tried to take a few photos on my phone the other day but he doesn’t stop running and playing the whole time that it made it a little difficult. But here are a couple anyway…check out his tongue in the last photo, the sign of a tired pup!

20120918-103429.jpg

20120918-103349.jpg

Our routine doesn’t waiver too much – I’ll even suit up in my rain jacket and rain boots and walk him in through puddles and pouring rain. That’s love, my friends, love.

20120918-103334.jpg

I try to take him hiking occasionally on the weekends, but that deserves its own post – more on that in the future. For now, I’ll leave you with this comic of “My dog: the paradox”, which was found on The Oatmeal. Dogs really do make everything better, the best therapy for any rainy day!

~ by Hilary Walsh on September 18, 2012.

5 Responses to “(Wo)Man’s Best Friend.”

  1. Sweet! He’s a wonderful dog! I want to hug him! Thank you so much for posting about him!

  2. Of course they do!!!!!

  3. Beautiful…

  4. I just pinned Bentley!!

  5. He is a GREAT dog!

Leave a Reply

 
