Belay on.

This weekend was filled with non-stop activities.  Friday night I went out to dinner with a former colleague of mine at a delicious Mexican restaurant called Fonda La Paloma – excellent sangria (made by the glass so it is extremely fresh), fantastic guac and a great pork dish that we split.  Sorry, no pics.

Saturday was dedicated to FSU Football!  Football season is one of my favorite seasons…yes, it is a season.  Saturday night we had a BBQ at the house.  I, of course, was in charge of the guac…this week I will be posting my guac recipe, so be on the lookout.  The burger was one of the most delicious burgers I have had in a long time.  It was made with a sun-dried tomato/ jalapeno pepper paste.  So good!

Today I went rock climbing!  I dabbled in climbing the occasional rock wall while I was in college and always had a blast so I thought I would pick it back up now that I have free time on my hands.  I took a class at the New Rochelle Rock Club to get reacquainted with the art of moving effortlessly around a climbing gym.

The small group “climbing 101” was a perfect reintroduction.  It has a maximum of 4 people per class and lasts 1.5 hours.   You learn the lingo, how to tie the knots needed to keep you safe, how to be an anchor for someone, how to read a route on the wall and the basic skills needed to start tackling indoor rock climbing.

I enjoyed every minute of learning how to belay and figuring out how to tackle the wall.

This is the look of one happy girl – a great weekend filled with amazing food (always a must), great friends, exercise in disguise and perfect weather!

~ by Hilary Walsh on September 16, 2012.

4 Responses to “Belay on.”

  1. Enjoy the moment! I want the recipe for the burgers!

  2. So glad that you are happy…looking forward to the guac recipe and also would like the burger recipe too…Love you, Gram

  3. How fun!!! Sounds like an amazing time… i am glad to know you are having a blast! Love to you & Bentley!

Leave a Reply

 
