Foodie Pen Pals.

This month I participated in the Foodie Pen Pals; it’s food related blogging pen pal group that Lindsay over at The Lean Green Bean puts together. It’s a really fun thing to do and you don’t even have to be a blogger to participate. The basic nuts and bolts are as follows:

-Once you receive your pen pal, contact the person you will be sending a package to and see if they have any dietary restrictions, food dislikes or any other information.
-You have until the 15th of the month to shop and get your box sent out.
-The spending limit is $15 dollars.
-It can be anything food related – local products, homemade goodies, etc.
-There must be something hand written included in the box – whether it be a recipe or a note explaining what you’ve included.

This month I received at box full of amazing things from Adriana – who lives in Florida! I was so excited to hear that she is living in Miami – it warmed my heart a little to know she was sending my box from the Sunshine State. Anyway, she sent me a ton of good stuff but before I get to it my only restriction was that I cannot eat dairy. I really wanted Adriana to have fun with this so since I can’t do dairy anymore that was my only limitation.

Living in New York (and not having a doorman) the USPS left me a slip to pick up my mail. Long story short, I had to wait until the weekend to pick up my package BUT I got to the Post Office too late. I took a gamble and had the USPS redeliver the box and leave it inside the door. Since I know everyone in my building (I live in a brownstone so there are only 4 or 5 tenants) and the box was being left on the inside, I felt comfortable enough to take the risk.

When I came home to the box of goodies I could not wait to rip it open and see what was inside – it didn’t help that it was 8:45 pm and I was starvingggg. In the middle of devouring one of these bad boys…

I remembered I needed to snap a few photos so out came the iPhone.

These are Adriana’s homemade “Almond Joy” Raw Date Snacks. The were really really amazing. I suggest you make them…now!

I tore open everything else and started salivating. I received the following:

Mary’s Gone Crackers – Herb flavored.

These have been the perfect snack to carry in my purse. I have paired them as a side to my lunchtime salads as well as to hold me over in the afternoon before dinner.

With this I did something non-traditional. I used a little bit of it with steak. Yes, I know it’s slightly out of the ordinary but my mom used to marinate steak in Italian dressing so I tried the same concept with the Greek dressing and it was perfect.

These are a commercialized version of Adriana’s “Almond Joy” Date Snacks. Not going to lie, I much preferred Adriana’s homemade ones over these Argentinian date squares. These were good just not the same.

This addition might have been my favorite goodie in the box. Pineapple and Pepper Jelly (Made in Florida). One of the best things about this was that I was craving pot stickers a few days prior and this was the best thing that could have happened to me right at that moment! Adriana had suggested that this jelly would taste delicious paired with pot stickers and I just so happened to be craving them.

I really enjoyed shopping for someone else and getting my package too! If you’re interested in participating, go here.

~ by HilaryGiles on April 30, 2012.

3 Responses to “Foodie Pen Pals.”

  1. Glad you enjoyed!! We had a great time at the City this past weekend… Not enough time to do all we wanted to but did go to see Mary Poppins and had a burger and shake at the Shake Shack 😉

  2. This package of goodies is amazing! My kind of food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
