A Kitchen Disaster.

Most people only post the good things, especially when it comes to cooking in the kitchen. I have attempted to make Pad Thai a few times and have failed each time. I have tweaked the spices and ingredients as well as made adjustments to measurements but have yet to find a good combination for a suitable homemade substitute for my favorite Seamless delivery food, Pad Thai.

When it comes to cooking anything ethnic or out of my comfort zone things can get a bit wonky. That being said, I love to experiment in the kitchen and am determined to come up with a quality Pad Thai recipe.

What I like about these noodles is they come in three single serving bundles within one package – perfect for when you are only cooking for one! And to be honest, one bundle is still too much for me. They are organic (the latest and greatest marketing ploy of the supermarket world) and the bundles are wrapped with a little ribbon indicating there are No GMOs.

The flavoring really needs some work. Apparently fish sauce is the key to Pad Thai. After talking to a couple of people and looking over many many recipes, fish sauce was a consistent ingredient. Unfortunately, I am not really a fan of fish sauce so I am trying to work around that small, seemingly important, detail.

My first documented attempt consisted of low sodium soy sauce, crunchy peanut butter, scallions, red pepper flakes, a bit of salt, brown sugar and fresh squeezed lime.

It resulted in a pretty inedible concoction. I took a few bites and then threw the rest out. The noodles seemed not to have any flavor whatsoever. Maybe it was because I was hopeful for something that tasted a bit more like the Pad Thai I know and love or maybe it was because the recipe was just that horrible. Either way, I tried again.

The next round I used sesame oil, a dash of red wine vinegar (did not have any rice vinegar so I added a teeny bit of this instead), extra crunchy peanut butter (a significantly greater quantity too), a few dried chives, a tad bit of dry mustard, salt, red pepper flakes, a little chili powder and a pinch of sugar. Much better combination but still not what I was craving.

The end result, while it did NOT taste like Pad Thai, was actually pretty good. I finished the entire bowl. The flavors were very much present and it was a satisfying meal; it just was not the bowl of Thai noodles I was hoping for. I am still planning on tweaking a few things and experimenting with different combinations, but for now I think my sights are set on Seamless for the next batch of Pad Thai my stomach craves. Until next time, that’s all the kitchen misfortune I can handle for right now.

Do you have any suggestions for improvement?

~ by HilaryGiles on April 15, 2012.

5 Responses to “A Kitchen Disaster.”

  1. Maybe a little Hoisen sauce for the Fish sauce?

  2. and or Tamarind paste?

  3. I don’t know if I’ve attempted Pad Thai before so I’ve got nothing for you, but thank you so much for the Foodie Pen Pal gifts. Murphy says thank you too. He loved the dog biscuits.

Leave a Reply

 
