Fort Hancock.

After taking a relaxing walk on the beach we drove about a mile down the road to Fort Hancock which is a former U.S. Army Coast Artillery Post. While the buildings were still there, most were boarded up and pretty run-down. The layout of the base was still intact and some of the more structurally sound buildings are now in use for what seemed to be scientific research facilities (that’s only speculation but it seemed to be a pretty accurate observation).

Here are a few shots from around base:

This hawk was circling me as I stood there taking photos. We could only assume (s)he was protecting her nest potentially filled with eyasses (baby hawks) up on the top of the chimney. Anyway, she was not a fan of me.

This door had so much character I just had to snap a few photos; I had Marie stop the car so that I could hop out quickly. I shot a lot more photos than these three but only because there was something special about the textures of everything you see in the larger photo of the door.

We stopped along the roadside at an abandoned Battery, formerly used for storing missiles and base artillery. A fence kept us from getting too close to the soon-to-be crumbling ruins. I can only imagine what it looked like in its heyday.

One of the highlights of my weekend was being able to spend time with animals! As most of you know, I love dogs. Lola is such a sweet pup and she was all about cuddling up to me this past weekend. I wasn’t complaining.

I have never really been around birds before, but Cali (the bird) has such a personality – she dances and plays and really does not act like I imagined a bird would.

My first experience near the “Jersey Shore” was a great one! And it was nowhere near any sort of “Situation” or “Snookie.” The weather was perfect and it was so peaceful. I can’t wait to go back soon.

~ by HilaryGiles on April 10, 2012.

One Response to “Fort Hancock.”

  1. Great pix…

Leave a Reply

 
