One Year Anniversary.

So today marks my official one year anniversary with said boycity. Yes, it has been an entire year since I gave my dog a hug and kiss, loaded my one (very large) suitcase into the trunk of my dad’s SUV, slung my Jansport over my shoulder, waived ‘see ya later’ to my parents at the Fort Myers airport and arrived in New York City without a job, without a place to call home and without Bentley. As I think about that giant leap I took just a year ago, I often laugh at how crazy it all sounds but smile because life is good right now.

Yes, I resigned from a very good job to move to one of the most expensive cities in the world without having any job prospects lined up. No, I do not regret it one bit. Yes, I will forever have the reminder (and proof) that I can do anything if I really want. No, failing is not an option for me. Yes, the lurking concept of ‘what if I fail’ helps propel me to push harder and do better. No, the fear of failing will not ever prevent me from doing something for myself or proving others wrong. Yes, I am succeeding on my own. No, life never stops. Yes, my mind is constantly scheming. No, I do not know where I will be in two years. Yes, I am proud of myself.

New York, happy one year anniversary. You have given me much more than I can ever give you – okay, maybe that’s not totally true…I pay you enough in rent every month!

~ by HilaryGiles on April 2, 2012.

One Response to “One Year Anniversary.”

  1. Happy Anniversary…Love you, Gram

Leave a Reply

 
