Maple Pecan Cookies.

Sometimes I like to create my own recipes. Usually it’s when I’m standing in front of the fridge and nothing I have on hand sounds particularly appetizing so I create some sort of genius meal (okay, so not genius but at least tasty). If I am stuck on where to actually begin or what key ingredients I might be missing, I will consult the internet – via allrecipes.com or a few trustworthy blogs. But usually, it is something I whip up and when I try to write the recipe down it never works out again. Well, this time I think I remembered my genius creation pretty darn well. And after retesting the recipe, I’d say it’s share worthy.

The first time I came up with this concoction I was craving my mom’s chocolate chip cookies. If you have ever had them you will know what I am talking about. I also wanted something healthy – she always seems to put a healthy spin on classics. I also didn’t have any chocolate chips on hand. My thought process went something like this…Oats are healthy, let’s use a bit of those; (Staring at a mason jar of Pecans) ouuuh Pecan Pie sounds good, but I want cookies and am definitely not making a pie right now, chopped pecans would be a good addition; I’m trying for healthy, how about reducing the sugar, hmmmm, I wonder if maple syrup is a good substitute (–> insert consultation with the internet), yep, it is. And my Maple Pecan Cookies were born! Genius.

Ingredients:
1 Stick Butter (equal to 1/2 Cup), room temperature (For Dairy-Free version I used Earth Balance)
3/4 Cup Maple Syrup
1/4 Cup Brown Sugar
2 Eggs
Tsp. Vanilla
Tsp. Salt
1/2 Tsp. Cinnamon
1 1/4 Tsp. Baking Soda
1 1/2 Cups Flour
1 Cup Quick Oats (Using Whole Rolled Oats will suck the moisture out leaving you with dry, cakey cookies)
2 Cups Roughly Chopped Pecans

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

– Using an electric mixer, beat Butter. Add syrup and beat again until mixed together.
– After a minute, add eggs and vanilla – mix well (by hand)
– In a separate bowl, mix flour, salt, cinnamon and baking soda
– Fold In half of flour mix to butter/syrup combination
– Fold In rest of flour mix
– Add Oats, mix in
– Add Pecans, mix together
– Assemble spoonfuls of batter on a pre-greased cookie sheet
– Bake in oven for 12 – 15 minutes

By the way, if ever using Maple Syrup as a sugar substitute the ratio is 3/4 cup of syrup for every 1 cup of sugar. Also, decrease the amount of liquid by 3 tablespoons to balance out the addition of the liquid consistency of maple syrup. {Source}

~ by HilaryGiles on March 29, 2012.

One Response to “Maple Pecan Cookies.”

  1. These look delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
