Una Fajita.

Happy Sunday and I hope everyone had a great St. Patrick’s Day.

This weekend was wonderful. Not just because it was St. Patrick’s Day but because I had an apartment to myself! And naturally what do I do when there is no one around? I cook. Friday night I stayed in and cooked delicious Fajitas.

The original menu consisted of chicken marinated in cilantro, garlic and lime but at the last minute steak sounded so much better. I was nervous the marinade would not translate as well to the steak but it worked out, if I do say so myself. Fajitas are very simple to make, in fact, all you really have to do is chop up your veggies, marinate your protein, saute your fillings, cook your protein, assemble into a flour tortilla and enjoy. Below is a photo essay, of sorts, of how I made my Friday night Fajitas.

I used the following ingredients for my Steak Fajitas:

– 1/2 Pound Top Sirloin Steak
– 1/2 Lime (fresh squeezed juice)
– 2 Cloves of Garlic
– 2 tbsp freshly chopped Cilantro
– Dash or two of Red Pepper Flakes (to add a little heat to the veggies)
– 1 Red Bell Pepper (sliced into strips)
– 1 Yellow Bell Pepper (sliced into strips)
– 1 Medium-Large Vidalia Onion
– 1 Package small Mission Flour Tortillas
– Guacamole
– Fresh Spinach
– Glass of Wine (to drink)

*Note: I can no longer have diary (more on that later) so no cheese or sour cream was used, but either would be great additions to finish your fajitas!

Chop your Cilantro

Marinate your protein of choice while your peppers and onions are chopped and cooked.

Check out that steam!

Layer of guacamole starts the assembly process, a few leaves of spinach (not shown), generous amount of peppers and onions and finally topped with a few strips of steak. Wrap and Enjoy!

Just in case you were wondering, the leftovers were just as good.

~ by HilaryGiles on March 18, 2012.

2 Responses to “Una Fajita.”

  1. YUM!!!!

  2. Looks so yummy in my tummy! !!

Leave a Reply

 
