CrossFit 101.

My very first actual CrossFit workout was a half “Cindy.” You’re probably asking, what the heck is a “Cindy” ? Well let me tell you…it is one of the most intimidating things to see on a white board once you factor in the part where you are doing it non-stop for 20 minutes!

It’s 20 minutes AMRAP (As Many Rounds As Possible)

One Round Consists of:
-5 Pull ups (I did modified box jump pull ups)
-10 CF Pushups
-15 Air Squats


Source

Yeah, so we only did half of that. It was our first time as a group doing a workout together so give us a break. Before that we had just learned the basics and, most importantly, the form needed for each exercise – dead lifts, pull-ups, pushups, squats, shoulder press, burpees, sit ups, etc.

I do have to tell you while you are sweating and panting and saying to yourself, “what the heck did I get myself into,” “keep going, you can do it” and “this sucks” it’s all worth it in the end. I had such a great feeling of accomplishment – literally I could feel the accomplishment in my oh-so-sore hamstrings and my useless upper body.

Afterwards, all I wanted was a smoothie but without a blender handy and not one smoothie place near my apartment I opted for a spinach salad with pesto chicken, sundried tomatoes, red onion, walnuts, olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Hope everyone is enjoying this nice weather! Good luck to everyone doing the CrossFit Open Workout 12.4 – it looks intense!

~ by HilaryGiles on March 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “CrossFit 101.”

  1. Salad sound great!!!
    Love, Gram

  2. You rock! Keep going, it is worth it and you are worthy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
