Temporary Tourist.

I like when I have visitors in town because it gives me an excuse to act like a tourist – even if I am slightly embarrassed to become one of those people who clogs the streets, takes pictures and talks incessantly on the subway. Oh well. This weekend I became a tourist.

One of my college roommates came to stay with me and we visited museums, went to Times Square, walked through Chelsea Market and visited Grand Central Terminal.

Unfortunately, Saturday was a rainy day but we made the most of it. JG Melon is one of my favorite burger places in the city not to mention it is very close to the Whitney Museum of American Art.

JG Melon is cash only and always has a wait [see the line outside the door in the picture above], but I figured it was worth a shot. Lo and behold just the two of us were able to get a seat within 20 minutes. The menu is small and focused. Mainly burgers, chili [which is absolutely amazing but often overshadowed by their well-known burgers], a couple of salad options and the delicious cottage fries! Burgers seem to cure even the rainiest of days and that’s exactly what we both devoured. Unfortunately I did not take any pictures of the food, but I can assure you our plates were clean by the end of the meal!

After lunch we headed to the Whitney Museum, which is currently holding the “Whitney Biennial 2012.” The line was long but we made it in to the museum relatively quickly and began exploring the art. There were performance pieces, sculptures, drawings, photographs, videos and so much more.

Dinner was at a great Thai place call Spice in the East Village. I will definitely be revisiting this place in the near future. The rest of Lauren’s trip is to be continued…

~ by HilaryGiles on March 4, 2012.

4 Responses to “Temporary Tourist.”

  1. You look amazing Red!!! Auntie loves you!!! I love reading your blogs too!!!! XOXOXOXOXI

  2. No shame in being a tourist! How was the Whitney, by the way??

    • I had a great time playing tourist! The Whitney was good – they have a performance piece by one of the resident artists at 4 pm daily (I think). There was a good variety of art too. You should go if you get the chance.

  3. Sound as if you had a great time…being a tourist is seeing familiar things through another’s eyes. Love you, Gram

Leave a Reply

 
