As Winter Comes to an End.

Aside from the purpose of showing what life is like for a 20-something living in New York City, I am still ironing out the contents of this blog. I do, however, love to cook and enjoy healthy balanced meals. For this reason I plan to share some of my own recipes [and those borrowed from other sources] to show how I try to continue to fit in my skinny jeans while properly fueling my body.

Because if I ate this all the time, the words "skinny" and "jeans" would not fit in the same sentence.

I often turn to my own blog roll for culinary inspiration – to mix things up, get new ideas and see how other people incorporate mindful eating into their daily lives. Jen, who writes her own blog at Peanut Butter Runner, is someone I often read for inspiration in staying motivated. She’s a yoga teacher, personal trainer, food lover and owner of an adorable Golden Retriever. Who wouldn’t read her blog?

Anyway, I know it feels like the end of winter but this soup is the perfect way to send off the cold, dreary skies for the dog days of summer. This recipe was created based upon many different tomato soup recipes I found browsing the internet. I was looking for something dairy-free yet still “creamy.” Below is the creation of my tomato soup concoction.

Roasted Tomato Soup:

-6 large tomatoes
-1- 32oz low sodium vegetable broth
-1 medium yellow onion
-Olive oil
-Spices (thyme, fresh minced garlic, chives, basil, Italian blend and red pepper flakes)
-Salt, pepper and sugar to taste

Halve the tomatoes and scoop out the seeds/core.

Toss the tomatoes with olive oil. Using your hands, make sure the tomatoes are evenly coated with olive oil.

Place the tomatoes on a foil covered baking sheet and generously sprinkle with spices. I did not measure the amount of spices used because I merely opened the cupboard and applied generous amounts of what I thought would taste best.

Roast in oven for approximately 40-45 minutes at 350 degrees. Or until they look like this…

While the tomatoes are roasting, heat a nickle sized amount of olive oil in a pot and add the onions. Cook just until translucent and add the broth. Cook on medium-low heat until onions are soft (about 20-30 minutes).

Remove tomatoes from oven and let cool about 5 minutes.

Add tomatoes to broth and let cook on medium heat for approximately 10 min. Turn off heat and let stand for a few minutes. Using an immersion blender [or for extra clean up use a regular blender], puree the tomatoes and onions in the broth ensuring there are no lumps.

Add salt and pepper to taste. Also sprinkle a couple [or few] pinches of sugar to sweeten.

Serve it paired with a thick slice of fresh bakery bread. Enjoy!

~ by HilaryGiles on February 28, 2012.

2 Responses to “As Winter Comes to an End.”

  1. You and your other friend – the one in FL for the w/e…her alligator appetizer and her burger and key lime pie put 5# on me just reading it!!! and now luscious soup…I just had breakfast and I’m hungry!!! rofl

  2. The food looks delicious and am sure it is extremely tasty!

Leave a Reply

 
