Getting Your Greens.

If any of you know me from way back when you will know I only ate white food. I’m talking I made my mom peel the skin off an apple because it had color on it, refused to eat potatoes with skin [but wouldn’t eat mashed potatoes because of the texture], ate solely white bread and would only touch plain pasta with butter, garlic and Parmesan cheese; absolutely NO tomato sauce. Crazy, yes I know!

So I think I have come a very, very long way now that I actively crave healthy food and refuse to touch white bread. Even more surprising is – get ready for it – a GREEN Smoothie! Yep, that’s right a smoothie full of the color green [my former worst enemy in terms of food]. You can’t even taste the spinach, I promise.

For this breakfast smoothie I used:

-4 cubes ice
-5 Strawberries
-1 tbsp Peanut Butter
-1 scoop protein powder
-1/2 Cup All-Bran Cereal
-A handful of Spinach
-Milk (Lactaid in this case) I prefer my smoothies to be like the consistency of a Wendy’s Frosty, so add as much or as little milk as you like.

Blend. Pour into a glass and Enjoy!

Even though it’s cold outside, this is the perfect way to start your morning and switch things up from oatmeal. My mom, queen of all things healthy, is responsible for my addition of the All-Bran. It provides a slightly different texture and extra fiber.

I will confess it took me longer than I care to admit to begin implementing healthy foods into my diet. Even still, I sometimes judge based on appearance first but this smoothie can convert even the toughest and most unhealthy critic.

I dare you to try it.

Do you have any favorite smoothie recipes?

~ by Hilary Walsh on February 24, 2012.

One Response to “Getting Your Greens.”

  1. Simply delicious! I am glad you have decided to join the ranks of yumminess 🙂 Love you, Cita

Leave a Reply

 
